Happy Valentine’s Day!

It’s that time of the year again. Women feeling like a beauty queen with bouquets, restaurants all packed, roses cost waaaay higher than any time of the year, and you can just see hearts all floating around everywhere, literally. ;)

When I was in high school, Valentine’s was a big deal. The girls that didn’t receive anything would be looked down at and it feels like you’re the ugliest girl in school. Haha. Yes. It could get that serious in high school. Haha.

As I grew up, I realized Valentine’s Day is just an excuse, an excuse to show love all out, be sweet and all. Wherein you should be like this everyday. Also, Valentine’s Day is not just or sweethearts! It is to be celebrated with family and friends as well!

This year I got mom and Julia edible flowers. They loved it! I got Mom the long stemmed one and Julia the baby version of it. Haha.

20140216-023247.jpg
Here’s a photo of Mom’s rose (and Cupcake that probably smelled it’s a sweet treat. Sorry Cupcake, not good for your teeth!)

As for me and Dennis, I was actually touched that he dived into a double shift the day before just so he can go home on time on Valentine’s Day. He came over and brought pizza for me and the sibs! What a sweetie! <3

20140216-023529.jpg
(Of course we didn’t get the chance to take a picture of the tasty pizza because we’re just too hungry to do that! :P)

I like it like this. Simple yet meaningful.

To be honest, it could be because I was stuck at home looking at everyone’s FB and Twitter updates of them receiving flowers and awesome surprises from their loved ones, I got frustrated that I didn’t get any. I resorted to a Twitter rant like, “Why didn’t I get this, why didn’t I have that?”, that I now regret. Haha.

After some time thinking (and a few Sweet Genius episodes) I remembered how I see this day. I remembered myself going on a date on Feb 14, 2012 with someone let’s not talk about who, and dreading the whole time, begging the guy not to give me flowers, and just hating the whole Valentine’s Day crowd (it is SERIOUSLY crowded).

Then I was happy. Happy that I have this man that loves me so much, that makes time for me, and just wants to be with me.

It’s not about the roses, chocolates and teddy bears that will prove someone’s love. Plus, it’s sweeter when you receive these on the tine you least expect to, right?

We have the gift of expression, we can say how we feel, we can make other people feel our love or that we care, and there are so many ways to do that. It doesn’t have to be Valentine’s Day for you to express, we can do this everyday. :)

As for me, I could not ask for more. <3 (Cue song by Edwin McCain…)

Let’s continue spreading the love, all day of the year!

P.S. I have a surprise for Dennis. Something happened and I wasn’t able to give it on time. Will make a post about it soon!

Leave a Reply

