Letting Go

Ahh, Friday. Weekend is here. Hooray!

Anyway, this past 2 weeks has been fast and was quite like a blur to me. A lot has happened but I haven’t posted anything about it here. I want to have everything confirmed and tell the people who should know first, before telling it to the world.

I have great news. I’ve been accepted by one of the most luxurious and renowned hotels in Makati, to take up a position with the Front Office team, Makati Shangri-La.

Ever since I was in college, I wanted to work with Shang. I don’t know why but Shangri-La is always part of our educational tours. We had seminars at Traders Hotel, EDSA Shangri-La and have stayed at Mactan Shangri-La during our tour at Cebu. I’ve always admired how the company has trained such competent staff. People at any Shangri-La hotel is always ready with a smile.

Of course every hotel stay, we interact with one department first, the Front Office team. Doormen assist you on your way to the lobby, carry your bags for you or lead you to the front desk. Then, front desk officers assist you in checking in and making sure everything is ready for your stay. I always wanted to be part of that team. Plus, it gives out that glamorous vibe once you say you’re working at the front office. Mehehe. :)

Luckily enough, I was selected among a lot of applicants. Such opportunity is rare and I just don’t have the heart to let that go. This is my dream, and I am one step closer now.

Of course, that means leaving my current job, and leaving IHG. I never thought that I would love IHG this much. I just love working here. Everyone is nice, bosses greet you whenever and wherever you bump into each other, they engage on a conversation with you, very lenient environment, considerate staff, friendly “kuya-guards”, free food, colorful place, everything! Now I find it really hard letting IHG go. As my bestfriend, Darwin, told me yesterday, “At first, we thought it would be easy to just go, but it’s not.” Yes. Definitely. This is home.

Also, another thing that makes this hard, is the fact that this is my first job. I never realized this before Ms. Vayie  tweeted me this:

tweet

I feel like getting a job with IHG after I graduated was like how a mother finally had a baby after trying several times, it might be a bad example, but, I care for my job, I love IHG, and I feel sad letting it go, just like a mother is to her child. I’m one of those new graduates that felt how hard it is looking for a job. That’s why I treasure it so bad.

I wish IHG can offer the same position to me, I won’t have any second thoughts, and just grab it, you know. It’s not that I’m halfheartedly taking the position with Shang, but, tate feeling that you already lived the winning ways and core values of the company you love and work for almost a year and suddenly having to change or forget some/all of it is hard. But, yeah, employees really love IHG, that’s why no one is leaving their jobs, so that it’ll be open for me. Bummer.

Don’t get me wrong, I want this job with Shangri-La, and I believe that they are one of the best companies to work for, but I love IHG too.

As my tweet up there says (in english), “I almost shed a tear after I passed my resignation letter to my boss. </3“, it’s true. Pinigilan ko lang sarili ko.  I suddenly became nostalgic. Whenever I walk down the halls of RCBC Plaza, I reminisce the first time I set my foot in that breathtaking structure. When I’m at the elevator, I’m thinking that I’m gonna miss the times my officemates used to joke around while in it, and jump up and down thinking we might be stuck. Hayyy. Why is this so hard?? :(

Now I know why resigned employees of IHG were saying it’s hard to leave the company. I couldn’t agree more.

I know this is just a phase, and I am so sure that I’m gonna love my work at Shangri-La and the company itself, too. And since I’d be wearing uniforms from the hotel, goodbye corporate clothes for me. My wardrobe should have an update as well. Hehe.

Right now, I’m busy accomplishing requirements for pre-employment. And I’m excited. Excited to be on my first duty with my dream job and workplace, meet new colleagues and serve lots of people.

I’m happy that I know how to value blessings that was given to me by the Almighty, that more kept coming. :)

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

